Installing Microsoft signtool.exe on Windows 7- Part 2

I recently upgraded to a Windows 7 machine and needed to install the signtool on my new pc. This is a followup to the post Installing Microsoft signtool.exe posted in May 2012.

I searched the web for the download location for the Windows 7 version of the SDK and found this url: Windows SDK for Windows 7 and .NET Framework 4.

I downloaded the winsdk_web.exe file and tried to install a minimal version of the SDK since I only wanted the signtool.exe. I was not able to successfully install this version since I did not have the correct .NET version. I was getting the error message “Some components cannot be installed” message.

So instead of upgrading to .NET 4 version I returned to the previous download link and perused the archived versions. I found the download for the Windows SDK .NET Framework 3.5 SP1 archived version which is preinstalled on all Windows 7 machines. I downloaded the new winsdk.exe for this version.

I selected the same settings as I did for Windows XP version:

Windows 7 SDK options Selected

Windows 7 SDK options Selected

This installation ran smoothly and in a similar manner to the one for windows XP.

I can now access the signtool on my new desktop with a minimal windows SDK installation.

One Response to Installing Microsoft signtool.exe on Windows 7- Part 2

  1. […] UPDATE I upgraded to a new Windows 7 machine and wrote a quick update on Windows 7 signtool installation […]

Leave a Reply

