Time Capsule(Apple) Replacing D-Link DI-614+(Windows) on Earthlink ISP Problems

Just installed an Apple Time Capsule(wireless router, backup, wpa enabled) to replace my old, old, old D-Link wireless router which was windows based(WEP enabled wireless router).

My current ISP is Earthlink. I have a windows vista desktop pc that was used to configure the D-link router and connect to the internet through this router. Please note that the IP address used with windows machines all start with 192.XXX.XXX.XXX.

I followed the directions provided and installed the airport utility on my mac pro and connected to the time capsule to set it up.

Usually all things apple install pretty smoothly but I was having problems detecting an internet connection using the airport utility software. I connected the ethernet connection from the cable modem into the wan port and the time capsule light remained yellow. Unfortunately:
“The application will automatically detect the time capsule you have just plugged in.” did not happen.

The airport utility did not detect the time capsule and I got the following message:
“AirPort Utility was unable to find your AirPort wireless device.”

The Solution:
Turning the earthlink modem off and then turning it back on – In essence resetting the modem connection and settings. This cleared out the old IP default address settings which were windows based and started with 192.xxx.xxx.xxx. After the modem reset, the Time capsule was able to use the apple oriented IP default addresses which start with 10.xxx.xxx.xxx. Or at least I think this is what happened.

I also had to reconfigure my hp c4780 wireless printer since it was also set to the old wireless configuration using the old encryption(wep) vs the new encryption(WPA).

I plugged the printers usb cable into my mac pro laptop and reran the HP Setup Assistant located on my laptop at Applications>Hewlett Packard >Device Utilities. I could then reset the printers wireless settings to detect the new wireless network(with the latest ssid, and wpa encrypted password vs the old ssid and the wep encrypted password).

Leave a Reply

